palais_de_tokyo_alaune

the Palais de Tokyo reopens

,

The venue opened its doors provisionally last night for an all-new introduction to the place with 30 hours of artistic performances. A foretaste of what you will discover from next week onwards.

“The Palais de Tokyo was too small for the Palais de Tokyo.” So said Jean de Loisy, its director, as he explained the expansion of the venue from 7,000 to 12,000 m2 distributed over 4 levels devoted to creation, Modern Art, and in particular to artists from all towns. The architects’ ambition was to offer artists and visitors alike a space that was open to light and the sun, a mysterious and magic place, a place of light and liberty, by using the natural poetry of the place ‘for the pleasure of visiting because you feel good here.’

With the new Palais de Tokyo, Frédéric Mitterrand, Minister of Culture, wanted to reclaim a space for contemporary art in France, “to create a place for creation, festivals and insolence.” He wanted to create an essential place for artists and exhibitions from around the whole world: ‘I wanted people to say ‘I’ll be stopping off at the Palais first.’

With 50% funding from the Ministry of Culture, the other 50% is funded by corporate players including Orange, one of the main partners alongside Swarosvki. Jean de Loisy therefore thanked Stéphane Richard and Christine Albanel for their in-depth involvement in this project, and their support in this adventure, calling Orange a ‘fascinating historical partner.’ As part of this re-opening, the Palais de Tokyo will thus show UrbanMobs, ‘mapping of popular emotions’ whose technology was developed in the Orange Labs. Beyond this first creation, this partnership will also be an opportunity to develop new projects of artistic collaboration and mediation tools for visitors, specifically the official Palais de Tokyo Smartphone app that will soon be released.

Still a work in progress, the Palais de Tokyo is nevertheless ready to welcome all visitors from all the districts of Paris, all the regions of France and all the countries of the world. So dear readers, if you live in Paris, if you are coming on a business trip, for a vacation or to fall under the spell of the French capital, come to the Palais de Tokyo and you will be made to feel most welcome!

Below is a slideshow of a selection of the works on show for the pre-opening of the Palais de Tokyo.


Do you like it? Are you a fan of contemporary art? Give us the lowdown in the comments

 

,

articles you might like...

@Orange  |
nombre de commentaires
retrouvez aussi les

palais_de_tokyo_alaune

le Palais de Tokyo vous rouvre ses portes

, le

Le lieu a préouvert ses portes jeudi 12 avril pour une présentation du lieu revu et corrigé avec 30h de performances artistiques. Un avant-goût de ce que vous allez pouvoir y trouver dès la semaine prochaine.

« Le Palais de Tokyo était trop petit pour le Palais de Tokyo ». Jean de Loisy, son directeur, a ainsi justifié l’agrandissement du lieu passé de 7000 à 12000 m2, répartis sur 4 niveaux dédiés à la création, à l’Art moderne et surtout aux artistes de toutes les villes. L’ambition des architectes était d’offrir aux artistes et aux visiteurs un lieu ouvert à la lumière et au soleil, un lieu de mystère et de magie, un lieu de lumière et de liberté en utilisant la poésie naturelle de cet endroit, «pour le plaisir de venir parce qu’on s’y sent bien ».

Avec le nouveau Palais de Tokyo, Frédéric Mitterrand, le Ministre de la Culture a souhaité redonner une place à l’art contemporain en France, « créer un lieu de création, de fête et d’insolence ». Il a voulu offrir un lieu incontournable pour les artistes et les expositions du monde entier : « je voulais qu’on dise je passe par le Palais d’abord ».

Financé à 50% par le ministère de la culture, l’autre moitié est financée par les entreprises dont Orange qui est l’un des principaux partenaires fondateurs avec Swarosvki. Jean de Loisy a ainsi remercié Stéphane Richard et Christine Albanel pour leur forte implication dans ce projet et leur accompagnement dans cette aventure et qualifié Orange de « partenaire historique passionnant ». Dans le cadre de cette réouverture, le Palais de Tokyo exposera ainsi UrbanMobs, « cartographie des émotions populaires », dont la technologie a été développée dans les Orange Labs. Au-delà de cette première création, ce partenariat sera également l’occasion de développer de nouveaux projets de collaboration artistique ainsi que des outils de médiation pour les visiteurs, notamment l’application officielle du Palais de Tokyo sur smartphone qui sortira prochainement.

Encore en chantier, le Palais de Tokyo est néanmoins prêt à accueillir tous les visiteurs de tous les arrondissements de Paris, de toutes les régions de France et de tous les pays. Alors chers lecteurs, que vous habitiez à Paris, que vous veniez pour un voyage d’affaire, pour les vacances ou voir le charme de la Capitale, venez au Palais de Tokyo, vous y serez les bienvenus !

Ci-dessous, un diaporama d’une sélection des oeuvres exposées pour la pré-ouverture du Palais de Tokyo.


Ca vous plaît ? Etes-vous amateur d’Art contemporain ? Dites-nous tout dans les commentaires :)

 

,

vous aimerez peut-être également...

@Orange  |
nombre de commentaires
retrouvez aussi les